When is it me and when is it I ?

I know that schools seem to think it’s an infringement of a student’s civil rights to make them learn grammar now, but I can’t stand it any longer. The grammar lady deep within me is screaming to be heard.

When is it me and when is it I? Let’s take two simple sentences:

Mary and I went to the movies.

Mother gave Mary and I money for the movies.

Now let’s do away with Mary. (You never really liked her, anyway.)

I went to the movies.  Okay, that sounds good.

Mother gave I money for the movies.   Ouch. Not so good.

When in doubt, leave the other one out.

Simple, isn’t it?

(Don’t get me started on the misuse of “lay” and “lie”. Just thinking about it makes me want to lie down and give up.)

About Karleen Bradford

I am an award-winning author of children's and young adult books.
This entry was posted in Of interest to writers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When is it me and when is it I ?

  1. Beth says:

    Great! Now would you do a follow-up post on its and it’s?

  2. Karleen Bradford says:

    Good idea. It’s a thorny question and its misuse is endemic.

  3. AHAnto says:

    I particularly enjoy the simplification / clarification. When you KNOW what’s right without knowing WHY it is so, makes it very hard to pass on. Nice post.

  4. Thanks. It’s just that “it’s” is a contraction of “it is” and when it’s a possessive, such as “Mary’s”, it doesn’t rate an apostrophe. I wonder why?

    The English language is so inconsistent and difficult. I have nothing but admiration for people who learn it as a second language.

Leave a Reply

